Home > Blackberry > Separate BES Exchange Calendar and Google Sync Calendar on Blackberry

Separate BES Exchange Calendar and Google Sync Calendar on Blackberry


I use the Gmail Email Application on my Blackberry instead of the built in IMAP functionality of the Blackberry. For a variety of reasons, this is the ideal way for me to have Gmail access on my mobile device.

Because I didn’t add my Gmail account to my Blackberry (because I’m using the app), I only had one calendar on my device – my Exchange calendar synced through BES.

So when I installed the Gmail Sync Application to get my Gmail calendar as well, I was expecting it to create a new calendar on my blackberry. Instead, the application syncs to your default calendar. As soon as the Gmail Sync Application synced the calendar information with my default calendar, it then synced all my Gmail calendar items to Exchange – not good!

After deleting all my personal Gmail calendar item’s from Exchange, this was the solution I used:

  1. Uninstall Google Sync
  2. Add the Gmail account to the Blackberry using the Add email account button in Email Settings – this adds a new calendar to the device as well.
  3. (Optional) Go to Setup > Email Settings
    Click on the gmail account you just added with your trackball and choose “filters”
    Edit the filters of the Gmail account and change “When no filters apply:” to “Do not forward messages to the device”. Since there are no filters added, this effectively means emails will never be downloaded. This is what I want – to be able to continue to use the Gmail Mail Application and to add a new Gmail Calendar to the Blackberry.
  4. Go to Options > Advanced Options > Default Services and change the “Calendar (CICAL)” to your Gmail account.
  5. Reinstall Google Sync and the calendar will now sync with your new calendar.
Categories: Blackberry
  1. T_Man
    October 6, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Excellent post. I had the same goal and you saved me quite a bit of time. My only observations is that in step 3, the filtering rule should be applied through the email setup program where you set up the gmail account as opposed to within the options of the blackberry message store. I initially tried the latter and ended up filtering all my BES mail. :-S

  2. dvation
    October 6, 2009 at 10:53 am

    You’re right – I can see how that would be confusing. There are two places where “Email Settings” show up:
    1. Messages > Options > Email Settings
    and
    2. Setup > Email Settings

    If you add the filter using the Email Settings in the message options, it would stop all mail from arriving, even from BES.

    It’s actually the Setup > Email Settings section where you want to add the filter to stop gmail messages from being downloaded.

    Thanks for the post.

  3. Chris
    December 21, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Hey, awesome post. I did notice one thing however, which is that after changing the default calendar service, I had to restart my device, otherwise it would still try to merge my google calendar with my Exchange one.

  4. January 4, 2010 at 11:52 am

    can it applied in BIS ?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

