Home > Windows 7 > STOP Error 0x0000007B or Setup Hangs or Freezes during Windows 7 Install

STOP Error 0x0000007B or Setup Hangs or Freezes during Windows 7 Install


Had an odd problem with one of my home machines while trying to install Windows 7.

I almost always do a clean install, and since I was upgrading from Windows XP Professional, this was no exception. I backed up my files, and restarted, booting from the Windows 7 Setup Disc.

At the point that Setup shows you the nice Windows 7 desktop wallpaper and turns your cursor into that “waiting circle”, setup just hung there and froze. I could still move the mouse around but there was no hard drive activity and nothing changed on my screen for about 15 minutes.

I tried disconnecting everything I could and tried it again – same thing.

This time I booted into Windows XP and started setup from there. I got as far as I could in setup before having to reboot – upon reboot my machine started the Windows 7 setup and BAM – BSOD. I got one of those generic 0x0000007B stop errors.

After some troubleshooting, I ended up doing a BIOS update along with clearing the CMOS. As soon as I did that and restarted setup from a cold boot – the installation of Windows 7 was smooth. Hope that helps someone out there that has a similar problem.

Categories: Windows 7
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

